Mayors commit to uphold Paris Climate Agreement

Jun 1, 2017

Mayor Sam Liccardo issued the following statement regarding the U.S. withdrawal from the Paris Accords. Below is an open letter from The Climate Mayors to President Trump that Mayor Liccardo signed on to:

“Today’s decision to withdraw from the Paris Accords represents a disappointing, but not surprising setback in the fight against climate change. While politicians in Washington continue to languish in a petroleum-fueled past, cities like San Jose will chart the path to a more sustainable future, such as our efforts to make San Jose the largest U.S. single city with Community Choice Energy. I reaffirm my commitment, along with mayors across the nation, to find innovative ways to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions and accelerate our transition to a 21st century clean energy economy.” — Mayor Sam Liccardo


Thursday, June 1st 2017

The President’s denial of global warming is getting a cold reception from America’s cities.

As 60 Mayors representing 35 million Americans, we will adopt, honor, and uphold the commitments to the goals enshrined in the Paris Agreement. We will intensify efforts to meet each of our cities’ current climate goals, push for new action to meet the 1.5 degrees Celsius target, and work together to create a 21st century clean energy economy.

We will continue to lead. We are increasing investments in renewable energy and energy efficiency. We will buy and create more demand for electric cars and trucks. We will increase our efforts to cut greenhouse gas emissions, create a clean energy economy, and stand for environmental justice. And if the President wants to break the promises made to our allies enshrined in the historic Paris Agreement, we’ll build and strengthen relationships around the world to protect the planet from devastating climate risks.

The world cannot wait — and neither will we.


Mayor Eric Garcetti
City of Los Angeles, CA

Mayor Martin J Walsh
City of Boston, MA

Mayor Bill de Blasio
New York City, NY

Mayor Sylvester Turner
City of Houston, TX

Mayor Madeline Rogero
City of Knoxville, TN

Mayor Rahm Emanuel
City of Chicago, IL

Mayor Ed Murray
City of Seattle, WA

Mayor Jim Kenney
City of Philadelphia, PA

Mayor Kasim Reed
City of Atlanta, GA

Mayor Lioneld Jordan
City of Fayetteville, AR

Mayor Kathy Sheehan
City of Albany, NY

Mayor Christopher Taylor
City of Ann Arbor, MI

Mayor Esther Manheimer
City of Asheville, NC

Mayor Steve Skadron
City of Aspen, CO

Mayor Steve Adler
City of Austin, TX

Mayor Jesse Arreguin
City of Berkeley, CA

Mayor John Hamilton
City of Bloomington, IN

Mayor Miro Weinberger
City of Burlington, VT

Mayor Mary Casillas Salas
City of Chula Vista, CA

Mayor Stephen K Benjamin
City of Columbia, SC

Mayor Jeffrey Cooper
Culver City, CA

Mayor Michael Hancock
City of Denver, CO

Mayor Roy D Buol
City of Dubuque, IA

Mayor William V Bell
City of Durham, NC

Mayor David Kaptain
City of Elgin, IL

Mayor Lucy Vinis
City of Eugene, OR

Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson
City of Gary, IN

Mayor Sly James
Kansas City, MO

Mayor Adam Paul
City of Lakewood, CO

Mayor Mark Stodola
City of Little Rock, AR

Mayor Robert Garcia
City of Long Beach, CA

Mayor Dennis Coombs
City of Longmont, CO

Mayor Philip Levine
City of Miami Beach, FL

Mayor Tom Barrett
City of Milwaukee, WI

Mayor Mark Gamba
City of Milwaukie, OR

Mayor Betsy Hodges
City of Minneapolis, MN

Mayor Jon Mitchell
City of New Bedford, MA

Mayor Mitch Landrieu
City of New Orleans, LA

Mayor Libby Schaaf
City of Oakland, CA

Mayor Buddy Dyer
City of Orlando, FL

Mayor Greg Scharff
City of Palo Alto, CA

Mayor Jack Thomas
Park City, UT

Mayor Greg Stanton
City of Phoenix, AZ

Mayor William Peduto
City of Pittsburgh, PA

Mayor Ted Wheeler
City of Portland, OR

Mayor Jorge O Elorza
City of Providence, RI

Mayor Hillary Schieve
City of Reno, NV

Mayor Darrell Steinberg
City of Sacramento, CA

Mayor Christopher Coleman
City of Saint Paul, MN

Mayor Jackie Biskupski
Salt Lake City, UT

Mayor Sam Liccardo
City of San Jose, CA

Mayor Helene Schneider
City of Santa Barbara, CA

Mayor Ted Winterer
City of Santa Monica, CA

Mayor Joe Curtatone
City of Somerville, MA

Mayor Rick Kriseman
City of St Petersburg, FL

Mayor Stephanie A Miner
City of Syracuse, NY

Mayor Muriel Bowser
City of Washington, D.C.

Mayor Jeri Muoio
City of West Palm Beach, FL

Mayor Christopher Cabaldon
City of West Sacramento, CA

Mayor Allen Joines
City of Winston Salem, NC

Updated signatories as of 12pm PT on June 1st, 2017

Climate Mayors (aka, Mayors National Climate Action Agenda, or MNCAA) is a network of 88 U.S. mayors — representing over 43 million Americans in red states and blue states — working together to strengthen local efforts for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and supporting efforts for binding federal and global-level policy making. Climate Mayors recently released an open letter to President Trump to oppose his actions thus far against climate action. In January, 30 Climate Mayors issued an EV RFI to show automakers and manufacturers that 114,000 of their cities’ cars and trucks could be electrified.